Rajya Sabha Seat

Rajya Sabha Seat: ₹ 100 crore Rajya Sabha seat racket: The Central Bureau of Investigation, or CBI, had been listening to calls via a phone intercept for the last few weeks as they zeroed in on the accused, sources told NDTV

New Delhi: 

A racket promising a Rajya Sabha seat for up to ₹ 100 crores has been busted by the Central Bureau of Investigation, people familiar with the matter told NDTV. The central probe agency caught the accused just before money exchanged hands, they said, adding the accused also offered governorship for up to ₹ 100 crores.

The Central Bureau of Investigation, or CBI, had been listening to calls via a phone intercept for the last few weeks as they zeroed in on the accused, people with direct knowledge of the matter said, asking not to be identified.

Opposition alleges ‘deliberate disrespect’ to Mallikarjun Kharge, LoP Rajya Sabha, at President Murmu’s oath ceremony

Over four people have been charged by the CBI. Some of them have been identified as Maharashtra resident Karmalakar Premkumar Bandgar, Karnataka resident Ravindra Vithal Naik, and Delhi residents Mahendra Pal Arora and Abhishek Boora.

The accused ran an elaborate racket to cheat people by falsely assuring them they would arrange seats in Rajya Sabha, governorship, or appointment as chairperson of government organizations, ministries, and departments, sources said.

“Abhishek Boora conspired with Karmalakar Premkumar Bandgar to use his connections and reach high-level government officials, who could play a pivotal role in such appointments,” a person linked to the probe told NDTV, asking not to be identified.

The CBI’s First Information Report, or FIR, seen by NDTV, has clear details about how the racket promised a Rajya Sabha seat to cheat people for up to ₹ 100 crores.

Explainer: What Goes Behind The Nomination Of 12 Members In Rajya Sabha

Mr. Bandgar, impersonating a senior CBI officer, told the other accused including Mohammed Aijaz Khan to bring in any kind of work that he can fix in return for a huge sum, sources said.

“Karmalakar Premkumar Bandgar, Mahendra Pal Arora, Md. All Khan and Ravindra Vithal Naik often drop names of the senior bureaucrats and political functionaries for impressing upon the client approaching them for some work either directly or through a middleman like Abhishek Boora,” the CBI FIR states.

Comments”Karmalakar Premkumar Bandgar, falsely personating as senior CBI officer, has been threatening officers posted in police stations for showing favor to some person known to him, for influencing the investigation of ongoing cases,” the FIR states.

Four noted personalities from southern states Modi govt’s Rajya Sabha picks

Droupadi Murmu was on Monday administered oath as the 15th President of India in the Central Hall of Parliament. However, the ceremony triggered a controversy and a letter was submitted by the Opposition parties to the Rajya Sabha Chairman alleging disrespect to Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge.

Change is the Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha. The letter has been tweeted by Congress leader and former union minister Jairam Ramesh.

He wrote on Twitter: “Letter submitted to Hon’ble Chairman, Rajya Sabha by all Opposition Parties (including TMC) just now.”

In the letter, it has been alleged that Kharge was made to sit in a seat “not commensurate with the position he holds”, at the swearing-in ceremony of President Murmu. The Opposition described the development as a ‘deliberate disrespect’.

State Wise – Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › Members › StateWiseSummary

Name of StateNo. of SeatsNo. Of MembersVacancies

Andhra Pradesh (AP) 11 11 0

Arunachal Pradesh (AR) 1 1 0

Assam (AS) 7 7 0

View 29 more rows

Party Wise – Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › Members › PartyWise


1 Abdul Wahab, Shri IUML Kerala

2 Abdulla, Shri M. Mohamed DMK Tamil Nadu

3 Agarwal, Dr. Radha Mohan Das BJP Uttar Pradesh

View 234 more rows

Party Wise – Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › Members › PartyWiseSummary

Members Address ; All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), 13 ; Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), 1 ; Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), 1 ; Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 91.

Rajya Sabha


Council of States · Chairman · Deputy Chairman · Leader of the House · Leader of Opposition · Panel of Vice Chairmen · Secretary General 

State Wise – Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › Members › StateWise

Members Address ; 53, Geeta alias Chandraprabha, Smt. ; 54, Gehlot, Shri Rajendra ; 55, Girirajan, Shri R. ; 56, Gogoi, Shri Ranjan 

list of women members – Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › Members › WomenMembers


1 Bachchan, Smt. Jaya SP Uttar Pradesh

2 Balmik, Smt. Sumitra BJP Madhya Pradesh

3 Bara, Smt. Ramilaben Becharbhai BJP Gujarat

party wise list of members (with addresses) – Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › PartyWiseMemberAddress

S.NoNameLocal Address

2 Abdulla, Shri M. Mohamed; DMK; TN 42, Meena Bagh, New Delhi

3 Agarwal, Dr. Radha Mohan Das; BJP; UP

5 Ahmad, Dr. Faiyaz; RJD; BR

View 234 more rows

History of Rajya Sabha

https://rajyasabha.nic.in › FAQ

Currently how many members are elected from Union territories? Ans: In total eight members are elected from the Union territories (3 from Delhi, 1 from

1: Committee on Commerce

2: Committee on Home Affairs

6: Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture

3: Committee on Education, Women, Children, 

Rajya Sabha – National Portal of India

https://www.india.gov.in › indian-parliament › rajya-sa

20-May-2022 — The Rajya Sabha should consist of not more than 250 members – 238 members representing the States and Union Territories, and 12 members 

Members, Chairman, Elections of Rajya Sabha – Indian Polity

https://byjus.com UPSC Preparation Strategy

Rajya Sabha – Rajya Sabha Members ; Maximum Strength – 250 · 12 are nominated by the president ; Current Strength – 232 (13 Vacancies)Total – 245, 216 members 

Maximum Strength – 250: 238 represent States 

How are Rajya Sabha MPs elected? Why are the polls 

https://indianexpress.com › Explained

10-Jun-2022 — Rajya Sabha, or the Council of States, has 245 seats. Leave aside reaching the halfway mark of 123, no ruling party has ever touched the 100 

Rajya Sabha | Membership & Powers – Encyclopedia Britannica

https://www.britannica.com Other Politicians

The Rajya Sabha may have a maximum of 250 members, most of whom are elected to six-year terms by the legislative assemblies of the states and the union 

Notable Family Members: father Chaudhary D

Born: January 1, 1935 (age 87) near Sirsa India

Political Affiliation: Indian National Lok Dal

Explained: Why Rajya Sabha elections are important

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com › India News

10-Jun-2022 — Composition: Rajya Sabha, or the Council of States, has 245 seats. Out of this, 12 are nominated by the President and 233 are representatives of 

Explained | The upcoming Rajya Sabha elections to 57 seats 

https://www.thehindu.com › News › National

09-Jun-2022 — Only elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies can vote in a Rajya Sabha election. Polls are held to send a batch of new members to 





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.