DANBURY — Republican Dean Esposito defeated Democrat Roberto Alves by a 171-vote margin in Tuesday’s election, dynamical the GOP candidate to the mayor’s workplace.

It was the nighest politician race since 2001 once Republican Mark Boughton attained his 1st of ten terms by beating Democrat Chris Setaro by but a hundred and forty votes.
Esposito won seven,194 votes to Alves’ seven,023 votes, per the Danbury head moderator’s returns.
Turnout numbers don’t seem to be finalized however were at regarding thirty one % at the polls, same Virgin Mary Ann Doran, the Republican registrar.



Republicans were victorious in down-ballot races, too.
Republicans widened their majority on the council, taking fourteen seats, compared to the Democrat’s seven. There stay solely 2 girls on the council, each republican. The GOP had a 12-9 majority.
On the committee, Republicans can have a 6-3 majority. The Democrats had a 5-4 majority.
The GOP won a 6-5 majority on the Board of Education, which the Democrats have control for the past 2 years by those margins.

Gladys Cooper, the Democratic chair of the varsity board for the past 2 years, same she’ll “work with anyone if they’re willing to figure with Maine.”
“I have invariably been curious about doing the correct factor for the kids and employees,” same Cooper, WHO has been on the board for many years and wasn’t up for election this year. “I will work with anyone. i feel in education and that i believe supporting education and public education.”


epublican incumbent married woman Chaleski and Democratic incumbent Joe DaSilva won another term.
Republicans Michelle Coelho and Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu Buzaid were the highest GOP vote-getters of the night, earning them to their 1st terms on the board. Democrat Luisa M. Zagottis-Britton conjointly won a seat on the board, though she garnered the sixth-highest range of votes. Republican Virgin Mary Cronin, WHO received a lot of votes than Zagottis-Britton, won’t sit on the board as a result of not quite 3 folks from every party could win.

Democrat Joe Britton is within the middle of his four-year term on the varsity board however same weekday that he plans to step down once winning a seat on the council. He same he needs to remain on for a minimum of one committee meeting, therefore he will serve aboard his mommy, Zagottis-Britton.

The Democrats can endorse somebody to interchange him. the varsity board can interview all candidates WHO applied and choose a replacement.
The GOP took all seven at-large seats on the town Council and the primary, second, and third wards. Democrats and Republicans split the seventh ward.
Republican Joe Cavo, this city manager, Associate in Nursingd former council president attained the foremost votes for an at-large council candidate, with 7,303 supporters. He was closely followed by Republicans Warren Levy, 7,294 votes, fictitious character Buzaid son., 6,999 votes, Michael Halas, 6,878 votes, miss Stanley, 6,799 votes, Jason Jay Eriquez, 6,790 votes, and Michael Esposito, 6,747 votes.
Levy, Buzaid, Stanley, and Esposito area unit incumbents, whereas Halas has served on the council in previous years however not within the most up-to-date term. Democratic incumbents parliamentarian Taborsak and Frank Salvatore, Jr. lost their seats.
The First Ward winners area unit Republican Irving Matthew Fox and Michael Masi, defeating Chris Lewis and Dennis Perkins, Jr. Fox is Associate in the Nursing incumbent.
In Ward 2, Republican incumbents Vinny DiGilio and Elmer Palma beat Democrats Bernie Gallo and state capital Abrantes.
Republican incumbents Jack Knapp and Michael Henry won over Democrats Cheryl Duva and poeciliid fish Diker.
Democrats had their 1st conclusion within the Fourth Ward, with Joe Britton and incumbent Farley Santos winning. They defeated Republicans Veasna Roeun and John Esposito III, Associate in Nursing incumbent WHO left the political party in August.
The Fifth Ward winners area unit Democratic incumbents Duane Perkins and Fred filmmaker, beating Republicans Perry value and Matt hockey player.


Sixth Ward Democratic incumbents Paul Rotello and mount Chianese won over Republicans Gregory Davis and Oseas Mello.
The Seventh Ward was the foremost competitive. Democratic incumbent Richard Molinaro and Republican incumbent city Cammisa won back their seats. solely forty votes separated Molinaro from Republican Al Russo, WHO is on the varsity board. Democrat Wilson Hernandez lost.
Other races
Republican January Ziegler can once more function the official, defeating Democrat Andrea Gartner with seven,294 votes to six,353.
Republican Daniel Jowdy was re-elected as money handler, earning 7,997 votes to Democrat Henry Hall’s five,716.
Sitting on the committee are going to be Republicans Michael Coelho, Joseph Raya, parliamentarian Melillo, Angela M. Hylenski, Milan David, and Candace Fay, further as Democrats Richard Jowdy, Theodore Haddad, Jr., and Ryan Hawley.
Melillo, Hylenski, Fay, Jowdy, Haddad, and Hawley area unit incumbents. Democrat Sir Philip Sidney Almeida lost his seat.
Republicans Bruce Floyd Bennett, Edwin J. Duran, and Juan Carlos Cabrera can function alternates on the committee.
Serving as constables are going to be Louise P. McMahon, Erin Domenech, Michael Safranek, and fictitious character Coladarci.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.